I got the BluDevilGirl_822k text too. It was easy to see it was a scam THIS time but might not be so easy next time. Telus has some work to do, to get rid of these marketing Retards !!!
Just got a text from "teeny4" saying I bet you don'y know who I am,I got yout number from a friend of mine, so come and see if you recognize me on teeny4.datepit.net
just some loser who 's got nothing better to do, maybe promoting these dating sites, picking numbers at random. Make sure Telus isn't charging you for those incoming text messages!
A similar scam is going around by a different title. I got spam text message from a fake phone number (it said the phone number was a5000). The message said "2trueblue4you06 / Hey, I got your number from a friend of mine, but I bet you can't guess who I am! My username's 2trueblue4you06, if you" The message stopped there, and immediately another text message from the same sender came saying "2trueblue4you06 / wanna come see if you recognize me online, at 2trueblue4you06.matchclub.org Well, hope to see you soon!" The site does not exist, instead it redirects you to a site called FriendJungle, which is a known scam. The following web site gives information as to who allegedly owns matchclub.org, however the information here also looks fake: http://www.who.is/whois-org/ip-address/matchclub.org/
I got a text from teeny4 just tonight, same line "Hey, I got your number from a friend of mine, but I bet you can't guess who I am! My username's teeny4, if you" The message stopped there, and immediately another text message from the same sender came." Very strange, my cell number is only given out to close friends and family. I was at a party last night and thought someone had legitimately got my number from a friend. I figured out the only friend it could have been, and was getting mad that she would give out my number, UNTIL I read this thread. Thanks for posting it. Some freaking loser with a lame site and no action, trying to promote. Nothing better to do obviously. Idiots!
Yep, got the exact same message twice just 10 minutes ago (the skeptic in me always resorts to Google):
"Hey, I got your number from a friend of mine, but I bet you can't guess who I am! My username's BluDevilGirl_822k, if you"
Anyone know how can I get my number off their list? Also, I wonder if Facebook or any other social site has anything to with it (my Facebook profile has my cell number but it's restricted to friends only).
Ya, I got the text message from a fake phone number (it said the phone number was 5000). The message said "2trueblue4you06 / Hey, I got your number from a friend of mine, but I bet you can't guess who I am! My username's 2trueblue4you06, if you" The message stopped there, and immediately another text message from the same sender came saying "2trueblue4you06 / wanna come see if you recognize me online, at 2trueblue4you06.datehop.net Well, hope to see you soon!" The site does not exist, instead it redirects you to a site called FriendJungle, which a few above says is a scam...so that's what I'm guessing, but I hate someone just dropping crap like that on my phone.
how did they get my number?? I just got this cell phone recently.. and I want to know why I'm getting text from randoms when I barely gave this number to anyone..