These guys are relentless. They're hawking a software package that's supposed to help my kid increase their ACT/SAT scores. We've asked them to stop calling us but they still do and have hung up on us twice! For information on them, go to:
Mom, They too called about sofware package for studying for SAT/ACT to boost scores. When told them we would not order over phone when THEY called us, hung up on us.
Caller ID'd themself as John Allen
Gave "Tech Support" number as 888.260.4306 Wouldn't give return number
Have called numerous times. Obviously a telemarketer of some kind because when you say, "Hello" softly no one answers. Today I spoke loudly, someone came on. I said, "Who is this?" They hung up.
They call me repeatedly, and when somebody was actually on the phone when I picked up they asked for my parents. I told them it was a cell phone and the person on the other end became irritated and snapped at me saying something like, "what does that have to do with anything?" and I told them that it meant that my parents wouldn't be with me. So, they hung up. Very rude.
The above comments explain why we get these calls multiple times a day. We never answer, but we have two kids in high school--obviously, they want to solicate a test prep program of some kind. My advice? Go to Barnes & Noble or Amazon--they have more test prep kits than you can shake a stick at.
They have been calling relentlessly. I said I would not buy anything if I couldn't read about the program. He gave me a web site "americaneducationfoundation.org", which led me to this site and two others that say it is simply telemarketing. They called me back while I was reading this and he got quite rude when I told him what I found. He said, "It's what I say it is!". He gave me another web site, Universityprepcenter- Gold program, saying that they are the "not-for-profit side of the program even though they are charging you for the program. I haven't looked up the new site yet. That's next but my gut says this is a scam purportrated on highschool parents. I like the advice of Barnes and Noble.
This is a scam...they called and said my son expressed interest at a school college workshop. I called them back and you cannot get person to talk to and you can only leave a message. Went to the website to send an email and it bounced back as undeliverable.
They call and said my daughter had expressed an interest in ACT prep materials. When I checked with her, she said she had not requested anything. They told me she could use the materials for free and I would not be charged as long as they were returned within a 30 period. They wanted my credit card information to secure their material incase they were not returned. When I told them my daughter wasn't interested they hung up on me.
There are two American Education Foundations. The legitimate one is in Pennsylvania (AMDEF). This telemarketer is in San Diego. There web site states they have applied for non-profit status with the IRS. Since it hasn't been granted yet; they can't claim to be a charity and are therefore violating the Do Not Call registry law. File a complaint wit the FTC at
This a scam. They called my grandma and said that I requested information on their software. I didn't. I called them back and they wouldn't give her a refund. I reported the charge to Visa and they flagged it when the company went ahead and charged us a second time. I have done a little bit of research. The website americaneducationfoundation.org is registered to a Thomas Dubiel of San Diego, California and the website universityprepcenter.com is registered at a PO box in Scottsdale,Arizona. I let them know that if they tried to charge the card again I would press charges for fraud and the guy laughed at me saying that I wouldn't know who to press charges against. DO NOT BUY ANYTHING FROM THIS COMPANY!!!! I have warned them that there website will be taken down if the money is not refunded. Hope you all have better luck with them than I have.