4049359487

Country: USA
404 area code: Georgia (Atlanta, Sandy Springs)
Report a phone call from 404-935-9487 and help to identify who and why is calling from this number.
  • 0
    INVESTGATIONS replies to Brad
    Yes you can look them up on the Georgia Secretary of State. Don't be fooled by these blogs they come from people who breaks the law and lie about it.
  • 0
    INVESTGATIONS replies to Brad
    | 2 replies
    Yes you can look them up on the Georgia Secretary of State. Don't be fooled by these blogs they come from people who breaks the law and lie about it.
  • 0
    Hey Investigations
    This place is a debt collector for old pay day loans. Pay day loans are considered a loan. Not a hot check. This troll is just trying to scare you. All caps and horrendous spelling and grammar doesn't do much for his credibility.

    BTW There BBB rating is F. Check it out yourselves.
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton & [***]
    • Call type: Debt collector
  • 0
    Hey Investigations
    Additionally...They are breaking the law by telling you the police are coming to get you. It's all scare tactics to get you to pay. DO NOT give them any credit card information. This place is trying to rake in as much money as fast as they can because they know their days are numbered. They are being investigated from countless complaints but unfortunately the process isn't fast.

    If you were turned in for a hot check, you will receive a certified letter from your county's DA and opportunity to pay first. You'd be given documentation proving it was you. Not a phone call from some place thousands of miles away demanding payment over the phone.

    These types want money and time is money. Just hang up a few times. They want people on the phone they can scare. Don't give them the chance.
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton & [***]
    • Call type: Debt collector
  • 0
    INVESTGATIONS replies to jackie
    I really wish these people who are truly criminals would stop blogging lies if you write a check on a close account it is indeed against state law check out your state laws against the usage of check that remit while the account is inactive @ CKFRAUD.ORG
  • 0
    INVESTGATIONS replies to Brad
    | 1 reply
    Yes if you look the firm up @DORSEYTHORNTON.COM you can find out everything there is to know about this firm
  • 0
    INVESTGATIONS
    National Check Fraud Center
    Bad Check Laws by States
    Bad checks, also known as NSF checks, bounced checks, rubber checks, insufficient checks, bogus checks, etc., can be a big problem for an individual or for any size company. There are both civil and criminal penalties for this unlawful act, although it is much more costly and difficult to prove a criminal case. Always consider your goal: to recover the money or punish the check writer?

    Criminal Penalties by State.
    The following information may be out of date when you read this. Check state statutes for current laws.

    Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.

    Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.

    Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.

    Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

    Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.


    California. Where amount is less than $200 and is first offense, up to one year in county jail.

    Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.
    Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.


    Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.

    Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.

    District of Columbia. Up to three years imprisonment and $3,000 fine or both.

    Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.

    Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

    Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.


    Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.

    Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.

    Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.

    Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.

    Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.

    Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.

    Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.

    Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.

    Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.

    Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.

    Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.

    Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.

    Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)

    Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.

    Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.

    New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.

    New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.

    New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.

    North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.

    North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.

    Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.

    Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.

    Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.

    Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.

    Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.

    South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.

    South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.

    Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.

    Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.

    Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.

    Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.

    Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.

    Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.

    West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.

    Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.

    Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
    • Caller: DORSEYTHORNTON
  • 0
    STRESS OUT replies to alicia
    . Check state statutes for current laws.

    Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.

    Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.

    Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.

    Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

    Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.


    California. Where amount is less than $200 and is first offense, up to one year in county jail.

    Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.
    Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.


    Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.

    Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.

    District of Columbia. Up to three years imprisonment and $3,000 fine or both.

    Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.

    Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

    Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.


    Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.

    Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.

    Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.

    Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.

    Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.

    Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.

    Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.

    Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.

    Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.

    Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.

    Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.

    Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.

    Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)

    Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.

    Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.

    New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.

    New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.

    New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.

    North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.

    North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.

    Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.

    Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.

    Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.

    Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.

    Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.

    South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.

    South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.

    Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.

    Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.

    Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.

    Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.

    Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.

    Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.

    West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.

    Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.

    Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
  • 0
    JUST FOUND OUT replies to INVESTGATIONS
    The following information may be out of date when you read this. Check state statutes for current laws.

    Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.

    Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.

    Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.

    Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

    Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.


    California. Where amount is less than $200 and is first offense, up to one year in county jail.

    Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.
    Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.


    Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.

    Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.

    District of Columbia. Up to three years imprisonment and $3,000 fine or both.

    Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.

    Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

    Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.


    Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.

    Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.

    Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.

    Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.

    Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.

    Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.

    Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.

    Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.

    Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.

    Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.

    Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.

    Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.

    Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)

    Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.

    Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.

    New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.

    New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.

    New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.

    North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.

    North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.

    Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.

    Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.

    Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.

    Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.

    Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.

    South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.

    South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.

    Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.

    Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.

    Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.

    Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.

    Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.

    Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.

    West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.

    Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.

    Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
  • 0
    JUST GOT OUT
    The following information may be out of date when you read this. Check state statutes for current laws.

    Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.

    Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.

    Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.

    Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

    Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.


    California. Where amount is less than $200 and is first offense, up to one year in county jail.

    Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.
    Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.


    Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.

    Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.

    District of Columbia. Up to three years imprisonment and $3,000 fine or both.

    Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.

    Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

    Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.


    Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.

    Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.

    Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.

    Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.

    Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.

    Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.

    Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.

    Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.

    Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.

    Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.

    Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.

    Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.

    Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)

    Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.

    Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.

    New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.

    New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.

    New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.

    North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.

    North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.

    Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.

    Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.

    Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.

    Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.

    Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.

    South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.

    South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.

    Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.

    Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.

    Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.

    Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.

    Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.

    Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.

    West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.

    Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.

    Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
    • Caller: DORSEYTHORNTON
  • 0
    THIS IS REAL
    The following information may be out of date when you read this. Check state statutes for current laws.

    Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.

    Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.

    Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.

    Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

    Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.


    California. Where amount is less than $200 and is first offense, up to one year in county jail.

    Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.
    Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.


    Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.

    Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.

    District of Columbia. Up to three years imprisonment and $3,000 fine or both.

    Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.

    Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

    Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.


    Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.

    Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.

    Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.

    Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.

    Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.

    Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.

    Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.

    Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.

    Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.

    Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.

    Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.

    Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.

    Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)

    Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.

    Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.

    New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.

    New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.

    New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.

    North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.

    North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.

    Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.

    Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.

    Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.

    Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.

    Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.

    South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.

    South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.

    Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.

    Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.

    Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.

    Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.

    Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.

    Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.

    West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.

    Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.

    Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
    • Caller: DORSEYTHORNTON
  • 0
    JUST FOUND OUT replies to INVESTGATIONS
    The following information may be out of date when you read this. Check state statutes for current laws.

    Alabama. Check of $500 or more, fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5000 or imprisonment up to 3 years, or both; under $500 check, fine depends on amount and offense. Court shall also order restitution to plaintiff; defendant shall pay court costs if convicted.

    Alaska. Issuing check for $25,000 or more, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 10 years, or both, Issuing check for $500 or more, up to $25,000, maximum fine of $50,000, imprisonment up to 5 years, or both. Issuing check for $50 or more, up to $500, maximum of $5000, imprisonment up to one year, or both. Issuing check under $50, maximum fine of $1000, imprisonment up to 90 days, or both.

    Arizona. Up to six months in jail or up to $300 or both if under $25; up to five years in state prison or up to one year in county jail or up to $500 fine or both if between $25 and $100; up to five years in state prison if over $100 or if no account.

    Arkansas. Checks of $200 or less for 1st conviction fine of not less than $50 nor more than $500 or imprisonment up to 30 days or both; 2nd offense fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1000 or imprisonment up to 90 days or both; 3rd and subsequent offenses fine of not less than $200 nor more than $2000 or imprisonment up to one year or both.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of each other and each is an amount less than $200, the amount of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable under the $200 or more amount to which this category refers.

    Checks for $500 involve a fine not exceeding $10,000 or imprisonment up to 10 years or both.


    California. Where amount is less than $200 and is first offense, up to one year in county jail.

    Colorado. Misdemeanor - imprisonment in county jail for not less than three months nor more than 12 months or by fine of not less than $250 nor more than $1,000 or both.
    Felony - imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year nor more than 5 years or by fine of not less than $1,000 nor more than $15,000 or both. If twice previously convicted, punishment is imprisonment in state penitentiary for not less than one year and not more than 10 years or fine of not less than $2,000 nor more than $30,000 or both.


    Connecticut. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both.

    Delaware. Misdemeanor - up to 2 years in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Person who issued check must make restitution to person to whom check was issued. Felony - up to seven years and such fine as court may order.

    District of Columbia. Up to three years imprisonment and $3,000 fine or both.

    Florida. Felony - up to 5 years in prison or $1,000 fine. Misdemeanor - up to $300 or six months in jail.

    Georgia. Check for less than $100, fine of not more than $500 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. check for $100 or more but less than $300, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment not to exceed 12 months or both. Upon conviction defendant required to make restitution of the amount of the check together with all costs, which are presumed to be $20.
    When more than one check is involved and such checks were drawn within 90 days of one another and each is in an amount less than $100, the amounts of such separate checks may be added together to arrive at and be punishable as above.

    Check for $500 or more; a fine of not less than $500 nor more than $5,000 or by imprisonment for up to three years, or both.


    Hawaii. Up to one year in jail or $1,000 fine or both.

    Idaho. Fine or imprisonment or both as follows: If under $50, 1st offense - $300 and six months; 2nd offense - $1000 and one year; 3rd offense, or if amount in excess of $50 - $5,000 and three years.

    Illinois. Up to $500 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Indiana. Up to $5,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    Iowa. Up to $100 fine or 30 days in jail for misdemeanor. Up to seven years in penitentiary, or one year in jail or up to $500 fine, or both, for felony.

    Kansas. Up to $2,500 fine or up to one year in jail or both. Up to $5,000 fine or one to five years in jail or both.

    Kentucky. Up to $500 fine. One year in penitentiary for a misdemeanor. Felony punishable by imprisonment from one to five years and a fine of not more than $10,000, or double the offender's gain from commission of the crime, whichever is greater.

    Louisiana. Check for under $100, imprisonment for not more than 6 months or fine of not more than $500 or both. A third or more such conviction, fine of not more than $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. Check for $100 or more and less than $500, imprisonment for not more than 2 years or fine of not more than $2,000 or both. Check for $500 or more, imprisonment for not more than 10 years or fine of not more than $3,000 or both. In addition, the court may order as part of the sentence restitution of the amount of the bad check plus reasonable attorneys fees.

    Maine. Up to $1,000 fine or 11 months in jail, or both.

    Maryland. Misdemeanor - maximum fine $100 or imprisonment up to 60 days or both. Felony - maximum fine of $1,000, imprisonment up to 15 years, or both.

    Massachusetts. Up to $300 fine or one year in jail. Up to $600 fine and up to 2 years in jail or up to 5 years in penitentiary.

    Michigan. Up to $250 fine or six months in jail. Up to $500 fine or one year in jail.

    Mississippi. Checks under $100 - a fine of not less than $25 nor more than $500 or imprisonment in the county jail for not less than five days nor more than six months or both. Upon conviction of second offense for check less than $100 a fine of not less than $50 nor more than $1,000 or imprisonment of not less than 30 days nor more than one year. For the third offense a felony regardless of amount involved, imprisonment in the state penitentiary for a term of not less than one year nor more than five years. For a check of more than $100, deemed a felony, punishment of fine of not less than $100 nor more than $1,000 or by imprisonment for a term of not more than three years or both.

    Missouri. Up to $500 fine or six months in jail or both. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail or both. In addition prosecutor can collect fee of $5 for checks less than $10, $10 for checks - $10 - $100 and $25 for check of $100 or more.

    Montana. Check amount under $500.00=Up to $500 fine or six months in jail, or both. Check amount over $500.00=Up to $50,000 fine or 10 years in penitentiary or both. (MCA 45-6-316.)

    Nebraska. Obtaining property worth: More than $1,000 - Class III felony. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - class IV felony. Less than $75 - class II misdemeanor; 2nd offense - class IV felony. Issuing or passing a check of any amount - class II misdemeanor.

    Nevada. Up to six months in county jail or $500 fine, or both. State prison of one to 10 years or $10,000 fine or both.

    New Hampshire. Up to $200 fine or up to one year in jail, or both.

    New Jersey. Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail or both.

    New Mexico. Up to $1000 fine or 30 days in jail, or both. One to 3 years in jail, or up to $1,000, or both.

    New York. Up to three months in jail, or up to $500, or up to double the amount of the drawer's gain from the commission of the offense.

    North Carolina. $50 - $500 or up to six months in jail. If check is less than $50 - $50 fine or up to 30 days in jail. Over three convictions, up to one year. If check drawn on non-existent account, fine not to exceed $1,000 or imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both. If check drawn on account closed by drawer prior to time check drawn, fine not to exceed $400 or imprisonment for not more than 5 months or both.

    North Dakota. $25 - $250 fine, or up to 3 months in county jail, or both. If no account - fine up to $500 and one year in jail.

    Ohio. Misdemeanor: Up to 6 months in jail, $1,000 fine, or both. Felon: Up to 5 years, $2,500 fine, or both.

    Oklahoma. Up to one year imprisonment or up to $1,000 fine or both. One to 10 years imprisonment or up to $5,000 fine.

    Oregon. Misdemeanor: Up to $1,000 fine or up to one year in jail, or both. Felony: Imprisonment for not more than 5 years.

    Pennsylvania. Up to $1,000 fine or up to 2 years in penitentiary, or both.

    Rhode Island. Up to $500 fine, or up to one year imprisonment, or both. Up to $2,000 fine, or up to 2 years imprisonment, or both.

    South Carolina. Up to $2,000 fine or up to 10 years in jail, or both. In magistrate's court - first conviction, not less than $50, nor more than $250 or imprisonment of 30 days; second or subsequent conviction, fine of $200 or imprisonment for 30 days. Conviction in court of General Sessions, first conviction fine not less than $300 nor more than $2,000 or by imprisonment for not more than 2 years or both; for second or more conviction, fine of not less than $500 or more than $2,000 or imprisonment for not less than 30 days or not more than 10 years.

    South Dakota. First offense: a fine of not more than $100 or imprisonment for not more than 30 days or both. Second offense: a fine of not more than $300 nor less than $100 and imprisonment of not more than 6 months or less than 30 days. Third and subsequent offenses: a fine of not more than $500 nor less than $300 and imprisonment for not more than one year nor less than 6 months. Felony: Up to 3 years and not more than $1,000 fine.

    Tennessee. Not over $100 - not over 11 months 29 days in jail, not over $500 fine, or both. Over $100 - from three to 10 years in jail.

    Texas. Up to 2 years in county jail or up to $1,000 or both. 30 days to 2 years in jail and up to $1,000. Two to 10 years. Holder of bad check may charge obligor with any additional processing fees.

    Utah. Less than $200 - up to 6 months or $299 or both; more than $200 but less than $300 - up to one year or $1,000 or both. More than $300 but less than $1,000 - up to five years or $5,000 or both; more than $1,000 - up to 15 years or $1,000 or both.

    Vermont. Up to one year in jail and $1000 fine or both.

    Virginia. $200 or less fine or 10 days to 12 months in jail, or both. One to five years in the penitentiary or fine and jail, or one to ten years penitentiary in discretion of court.

    Washington. Misdemeanor - full restitution; the defendant need not be imprisoned, but the court shall impose a minimum fine of $500. Of the fine imposed, at least $50 shall not be suspended or deferred. Upon conviction for a second offense within any twelve-month period, the court may suspend or defer only that portion of the fine which is in excess of $500. Felony - Up to one year in jail or up to $1,000 fine, or both.

    West Virginia. Maximum fine of $100, up to 10 days in jail, or both. For obtaining property under $200 - maximum fine of $200, imprisonment up to six months, or both. For obtaining property over $200 - maximum fine of $500, imprisonment from one to five years, or both.

    Wisconsin. Up to $1,000 fine or one year in jail.

    Wyoming. Misdemeanor - Fine of not more than $750 or imprisonment for not more than six months, or both. Felony - Fine of not more than $10,000 or imprisonment for a maximum of 10 years, or both.
  • 0
    Hey Investigations
    WOW.. Someone learned how to copy and paste. Again, scavenger, bottom feeder debt collector. DO NOT give them your credit card number. They will drain you. You don't owe them. They bought the debt for pennies on the dollar then jacked up the original amount. They spent around $10 for the account and now they want hundreds or thousands from you. Don't even talk to them. Hang up. They'll leave you alone soon because they only want to spend time on the phone with people they know they can scare. They've  been sued several times, Their BBB rating is an F. They're under investigation. Their days are numbered.

    If it's an old pay day loan they're after, it's considered a loan. NOT a hot check. check out
    www.budhibbs.com for help if you're still concerned.

    Remember this: When an old creditor sales your account to a debt buyer for pennies on the dollar, and DID NOT give you that same offer, you are no longer morally obligated to pay the debt. If your conscience bothers you about it down the road, donate it to a good charity.
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton
    • Call type: Debt collector
  • 0
    Hey investigations
    Hey ...Your site says you have the leading check fraud investigators. Did you get them from running this ad on Craig's List? Nice to see where the money really goes!!

    Dorsey Thornton and Associates has arrived. We are a small but growing agency that is experiencing tremendous growth. We have two new prime clients. We need 20 collectors ASAP. We do have a question though, are there any real collectors left in Atlanta? Is there any collectors left that realizes money doesn't fall from the sky? We are offering a real opportunity to make $3500.00 or more per month. There is one condition though.....You actually have to work. If you are lazy, we don't want you. If you have don't come to work, we don't want you. We only want people who are serious about making a living not a check. Our largest check paid last month was $8911.00. This is real we have plenty of accounts and need people to work them. We pay up to 30% of every dollar collector from dollar one!! This is by far the highest paying collections job in Atlanta for the people who want the money and we can prove it!! We are even willing to train the right person if they have the drive and hunger for success. If you are interested in making money then email us at INFOatDORSEYTHORNTON.COM attention Wisteria or Michael
    By : Craigslist
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton
  • 0
    Hey Investigations
    Hey Dorsey Thornton. Please name the states, and show proof, that you are licensed to collect in.

    Please explain how you could possibly have an "F" rating with the BBB.

    Please tell us why your collectors introduce themselves as Bank officials, sheriffs, police, Private Investigators...etc ?

    Perhaps you could post one of the videos you claim to have of someone passing a hot check.

    Do you know anything about the FDCPA? You seem to keep getting sued for violating it. Why is that?
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton
    • Call type: Debt collector
  • 0
    Danby replies to INVESTGATIONS
    Actually, you're right. There is NOTHING mentioned on their website. No address, no phone number. The only way to contact Dorsey Thornton and Associates is by e-mailing them. They seem to be concerned about their complaints and their dealings with the BBB, but their rating is an F.

    I've been receiving phone calls but I still don't know where they are located, no phone number or anything.

    If they can't operate a business in a legitimate way and do business like other collectors that provide information in writing, validate debts, and use normal tactics, then they deserve to be shut down and sent to prison.
  • 0
    Don't trust these people
    Look up your state information on this site

    http://www.paydayloaninfo.org/

    In MOST states, a defaulted payday loan is a CIVIL matter and you cannot be prosecuted!  Tell these bottom feeders to pound sand!
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton
    • Call type: Debt collector
  • 0
    Also
    | 1 reply
    I found on another website where Dorsey Thornton even rips off their clients.  They collect money, but never pass it along to their clients and start ignoring their calls and emails.  What a bunch of dirtballs
    • Caller: Dorsey Thornton
    • Call type: Debt collector
  • 0
    Hey Investigations replies to Also
    I found the website you mention. Here's the quotes:

    Dorsey Thornton and Associates

    Collected from my clients and will not pay the money due! Will not answer phone calls, messages or emails! Beware of this company!!!!

    *************

    They started off great! Until they collected money from my clients and they never sent the funds to me. Now they will not return my calls, emails or send our payments. It’s a good thing our economy will weed out companies like this one.

    Can't wait for their dirtbag loser troll to respond.
  • 0
    Adam replies to BE CAREFUL GUYS
    | 1 reply
    Well put, also check your state laws, pay day loans in certain states are against the law, so if a pay day loan company forms a contract with you in one of these states it's not a legal binding contract, and they have broken local law.  This simply means you are not liable for the borrowed funds and your state will not allow you to be prosecuted for said funds.  However this does not mean go out with the intention of not paying them back, they still are allowed to attach this information to your social security number and blemish your credit.  The reason most states dont allow payday loans is because of the unfair intrest they charge, also some companies were cought selling your account and information to other companies right before you had completely paid it off.  The other company would then deposit the same amount back into your account and start the process over, or the new company would try and charge you the full amount a couple months down the road claiming you hadn't payed them.  Mean while you probably had paid, they just simply neglected to take the funds out so they could accumulate more intrest on you.  North Carolina is a state in which pay day loans are not legal.  Also someone can threaten you all day long on the phone, if they refuse to mail you a hard copy (in the mail, email does not count) of everything itemized your not going to go to jail if you ignore them, unless your summonsed and in that case you will receive a hard copy and enough time to hire a lawyer who can probably settle it out of court.

Submit a comment about 4049359487 phone number:

The company that called you.
 
Other phone numbers that starts with 404